Valerie Fazel Post-Conference Post and Comments

Valerie M Fazel commented on her own Questions.

In response to iShakespeare:

1. I’m most interested in Shakespeare online performance. Some of these performances are “homegrown” ala YouTube. How do all the questions that appear here on this wiki so far speak to online Shakespeare performances, “homegrown” or otherwise? Should we encourage student creation and posting of these kinds of performances? If so, what ethical, moral, and […]

Thank you Kevin and Sheila for organizing the iShakespeare workshop. I enjoyed meeting everyone in our workshop on Saturday. The five presentations on technology in the classroom and technology as the classroom demonstrated some of the ways Shakespeare pedagogy can enrich our teaching experiences and our students perspectives on Shakespeare’s global range. While conference experiences can be evanescent, I hope that we might continue conversing on this wiki for a little longer. I would enjoy reading additional experiences and see how teaching Shakespeare using early 21st century technology enriches (or not) learning (and teaching) Shakespeare. I have been teaching a first time course of my own design titled Shakespeare on Screen this Spring at ASU. Throughout the semester students have explored on-line archives, resources, performance, etexts, games, blogs, etc. (and of course film and television) and have, in turn, been working on their own semester-long blogs. I designed the course after paying careful attention to how students in my Fall Shakespeare Studies courses responded to media I brought into class (we all do this–bring in film, television, YouTube clips to enhance the play reading) and after cultivating ideas on using electronic tools to add to students’ learning experiences. Through my Shakespeare on Screen course I’ve learned that some of my assumptions about students and technology, and their responses to online Shakespeares, are somewhat accurate while some of those assumptions have been completely debunked. For instance, the notion that people in 18-25 year-old are “digital natives” is only true for about one third of my students (debunked my assumption). Also, they believe that adaptation and appropriation of Shakespeare cannot be unrestrained, but must incorporate certain characteristics of the playtexts to “qualify as Shakespeare” (affirmed my assumption). They have also been inculcated with biases against wikis and blogs and online Shakespeare playtext sites, and while they believe these are not quite valid and have not learned to cultivate a possible role as critical assessor of such online resources, they still include these sources in building their own platforms of Shakespeare knowledge (debunked and affirmed my assumptions). I would have a great many questions for the workshop panel on these and more situations if I thought we might continue the conversation on this wiki.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

