Participant list

Dr Christie Jane Carson
English Department
Royal Holloway University Of London
Egham, TW20 0EX United Kingdom
Department: Department of English
Affiliation: Royal Holloway University of London
(H): 44-1789-294479
(W): 44-1784-414122
c.carson@rhul.ac.uk

Professor Katherine Conway
P.O. Box 863
Norton, MA 02766 United States
Department: english
Affiliation: Wheaton College
(H): 508-212-9756
(W): 508-286-3606
kconway@wheatonma.edu

Dr Christy Desmet
548 Woodland Hills Drive
Athens, GA 30606 United States
Department: English
Affiliation: University of Georgia
(H): 706 546-0185
(W): 706 542-2128
cdesmet@uga.edu

Dr Robin Farabaugh
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
1000 Hilltop Circle
Baltimore, MD 21250
Department: English (and Biology)
Affiliation: UMBC (University of Maryland, Baltimore County)
(W): 410-455-2384
(FX): 410-455-1030
rfarabau@umbc.edu

Ms Valerie M. Fazel
P.o. Box 8070302
Tempe, AZ 85287-0302 United States
Department: English
Affiliation: Arizona State University
(H): 480-556-9189
(W): 480-965-3853
valerie.fazel@asu.edu

Dr Julia Hammond Flanders
Director, Women Writers Project
Brown University Library
Providence, RI 02912
Department:
Affiliation: Brown University Library
(H):
(W):
julia_flanders@brown.edu

Ms Renuka Gusain
3384 Coolidge Highway
Royal Oak, MI 48073 United States
Department: English
Affiliation: Wayne State University
(H): 248-990-4013
(W): 248 990-4013
renuka@wayne.edu

Dr Brett D. Hirsch
University of Western Australia
35 Stirling Highway
Crawley
Perth 6009 Australia
Department:
Affiliation: University of Western Australia
(H): 614 3336 4140
(W): 618 6488 1173
brett.hirsch@uwa.edu.au

Mr Peter J. Kuling
2507 – 140 Erskine Avenue
Toronto ON M4p 1z2 Canada
Department: English, Film and Communication Studies
Affiliation: Wilfird Laurier University
(H): 416-303-0441
(W): 519-884-0710 x2627
kuling@gmail.com

Ms Katharine K. Liu
Folger Shakespeare Library
201 East Capitol St. SE
Washington, DC 20003 United States
Department: Central Library
Affiliation: Folger Shakespeare Library
(H): 202-669-4473
(W): 202-669-4473
Katharine.K.Liu@gmail.com

Dr Kris Mcabee
1710 S Spring Street
Little Rock, AR 72206 United States
Department: English
Affiliation: University of Arkansas, Little Rock
(H): 501-246-4271
(W): 805-637-6281
kxmcabee@ualr.edu

Mr Wayne H. Morse, Jr
University Technology Services
Emory University
Atlanta, GA 30322
Department:
Affiliation: Emory University
(H): 860-974-2431
(W): 508-793-2541
whmorse@emory.edu

Professor Laurie E. Osborne
27 Oxen Drive
Oakland, ME 04963 United States
Department: Department
Affiliation: Colby College
(H): 207-465-2225
(W): 207-8759-5278
leosborn@colby.edu

Dr Erin Presley
109 Westfield Street
Richmond, KY 40475 United States
Department: English
Affiliation: Eastern Kentucky University
(H):
(W): 706-714-3929
erin.presley@eku.edu

Ms Anna M. Pruitt
2725 21st Street, Apt. 6
Sacramento, CA 95818 United States
Department: English
Affiliation: University of California, Davis
(H): 719-648-6387
(W): 719-648-6387
ampruitt@ucdavis.edu

Dr Eleanor Rycroft
University of Lancaster
Bailrigg
Lancaster
LA1 4YW
United Kingdom
Department: English and Creative Writing
Affiliation: Lancaster University
(H):
(W): 07888 753377
e.rycroft@lancaster.ac.uk

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Participant list

  1. Wow. I didn’t think I’d be the first to post!

    Well, I’m Brett D. Hirsch and I’m University Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Medieval and Early Modern Studies at the University of Western Australia. When I’m not irritating my neighbours with my beloved uilleann pipes (the traditional bellows-blown Irish bagpipe), I’m conducting research on early modern drama and culture. Two of my areas of interest are the creation of electronic editions and the use of digital humanities methods for research and pedagogy, which is why (I assume) I’ve been invited to participate in this workshop. I’m very keen to learn more about Kevin and Sheila’s *World Shakespeare Project*, to catch up with some familiar faces and become familiar with new ones. While we’re discussing the future of Shakespeare scholarship and pedagogy as a group, I’m eager to bounce some ideas and receive feedback about my ongoing project, the *Digital Renaissance Editions*, which is extending the *Internet Shakespeare Editions* to include non-Shakespearean drama.

    See you all in Boston!
    B.

  2. KatharineKLiu says:

    I’m Katharine Liu, the Library Tech/Research Assistant/Jill-of-all-Trades at the Folger Shakespeare Library. Basically, if it’s digital at the Folger, I’ve probably worked on it: finding aids, basic metadata, and our beloved digital image database at Luna Insight (http://luna.folger.edu/luna/servlet). In my spare time, I’m constructing a PhD proposal on verbal patterning in Jacobean tragicomedy and dramaturging for Taffety Punk Theatre Company (http://www.taffetypunk.com – go Punks!).

    The last time I came to SAA for the Shakespeare 2.0 workshop (2010) under Kathy Rowe, and it’s great to see some familiar names! At the time, we unpacked some of the scholarly primitives associated with Shakespeare scholarship and created a set of whitepapers on the digital resources associated with those primitives that were available (pre-IPad :). As an extension of that project, I’m now particularly interested in the institutional requirements for sustaining a culture of digital humanities research and cross-disciplinary collaboration.

  3. renukagusain says:

    Hi!
    My name is Renuka Gusain. I did my M.A. and M.Phil at the University of Delhi, India, before moving to the States. I am currently a Ph.D. candidate at Wayne State University in Michigan, and am completing the final chapter of my dissertation On Beauty and Ethics in Shakespeare and His Contemporaries (expected defense by April 2012). I have started work on my second project that deals with issues of beauty, the body, immanence, and transcendence in Mirabai’s poetry (North Indian Bhakti poetry of the fifteenth and sixteenth century). I signed up for this workshop because New Media is my secondary research interest, and as I approach the next stage in my career, I want to be in a position to offer my students a more substantial engagement with digital humanities.

    I’m interested in both theoretical as well as pedagogical aspects of new media studies, and what is broadly considered to be digital humanities. I’m interested in, for instance, what happens at an affective level when we interact with different kinds of media? Would teaching and learning through an iPad create a different kind of literacy than teaching in a paper classroom? I have done some research on issues related to new media, perception, and the body, as is reflected in my book chapter, “War Body as Screen of Terror” (The War Body on Screen, Continuum Press 2008). Some of the more recent theorists that I am familiar with include Marshall McLuhan, Katherine Hayles, Brian Massumi and Lev Manovich. In keeping with my interest in the body and issues of subjectivity, I also initiated and am currently collaborating on a research article examining the affective response of the body to the process of narration/storytelling with two doctors at the Department of Psychiatry, SUNY Downstate Medical Center.

    In my teaching I have used blogs, wikis, and prezis, and am interested in learning about what technologies you use. I find that these interfaces encourage students to write more, and research collaboratively. For instance, for two of my courses, I had my students at Wayne State U collaborate with Brazilian students at Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais throughout the semester (I has just co-taught a course on academic writing and new media at UFMG in Brazil and had designed this semester long project with a professor I met there). My students used the wiki format to create a digital artifact (an assemblage of text and image) to address issues related to globalization. While teaching about early modern literary culture, I talk about new media to get students to address issues like collaborative authorship, how the text of a play develops, and the circulation of manuscripts in the early period. But I would like to use new media more than just as an analogy for my early modern classes. I do introduce my students to digital collections (EEBO, BPI, and such) but what else can I incorporate? And more importantly, to what end? What are benefits of using Twitter in teaching Shakespeare? Does it impact our thinking about the plays themselves?

    As an Instructional Consultant at the WSU Office for Teaching and Learning, I trained faculty on the use of technologies like Blackboard, blogs, wikis, prezis, online testing software such as Respondus, StudyMate, implementing online assignments, and so on. This experience made me realize that it’s important to understand that technology is a tool that enhances teaching and learning, not a replacement for teaching…I wouldn’t want to use new media for the sake of using it. I would love to learn and brainstorm about what learning benefits come out the use of new media in teaching. I’d also like to learn about the digital teaching partnerships you have going on with India.

    Here is my selection of readings (if there’s something in here that you were particularly set on doing, please let me know and I can look for an alternative)

    1) Helen Burgess:
    New Media in the Academy: Labor and the Production of Knowledge in Scholarly Multimedia
1) Helen J. Burgess, University of Maryland Baltimore County; Jeanne Hamming, Centenary College of Louisiana
    2) Julia Flanders:
    “The Productive Unease of 21st-century Digital Scholarship” Digital Humanities Quarterly 3.3 (Summer 2009)
    Digital Humanities and the Politics of Scholarly Work
    3) Matthew Kirschenbaum. “What is Digital Humanities and What’s it Doing in English Departments?” ADE Bulletin, 150, 2010.

    (I’ll be traveling quite a bit till mid-Nov, first to the SCSC and then to Ireland for a couple of weeks, so it might take me a while to get to comments posted here.)

  4. pkuling says:

    I’m Peter Kuling from Wilfrid Laurier University in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. At Laurier I teach courses on print history, multimedia communication and digital technology, as well as drama, film and literature for our English Department. I received my MA from the University of Toronto on Book History & Print Culture, and my PhD from the University of New Brunswick – Fredericton on Canadian Adaptations of Shakespeare. At UNB I worked as a project assistant to David Gants (U Florida) for the Online Edition of the Cambridge Complete Works of Ben Jonson. This job planted the bug in my brain for digital access and evolutions with early modern theatre and history.

    I’m really excited to be part of this group discussing current and emerging trends in new media Shakespeare teaching and preservation. I’ve got a strong interest in the role of digital technology and early modern + contemporary archives / records. In the summer of 2012 I’ll be starting a new project aimed at building and testing some new interactive designs for digital Canadian and early modern theatrical archive material. My goal is to try expand digital archives use by librarians, students and everyday readers. I’m really fascinated by Philip Henslowe’s Diary, as well as other historical journals and records by actors and patrons of early modern theatres.

    I’m also the membership coordinator and online records manager of the Canadian Association for Theatre Research. At CATR I’ve moved our entire association to a new online database system used for everything from personal records to networking, from voting to journal access.

    Once again, I’m really excited to be reading, discussing and debating digital tech and pedagogy with you all. I’ve only been to the SAA once before (Washington, DC 2009), and I’m really looking forward to coming to Boston!

  5. Hello everyone,

    I’m Eleanor Rycroft (Ellie) and I’ve just taken up a post as Lecturer in Early Modern Literature at Lancaster University, UK. My primary research interests concern bodies, gendered identity and the early modern drama, but I also spent several years as a theatre director and have been invited to participate in the iShakespeare workshop to contribute the practitioner’s perspective. I am hugely interested in and excited by the possibilities of new media for our teaching, not least because of accessibility of texts (no more ‘it wasn’t in the library!’). I wonder too what differences there are between the materiality of reading a book and the reading of a screen, and how these effect embodied learning and cognition.

    Really looking forward to meeting many of you and discussing these issues in April!

  6. iShakespeare says:

    laurieoz
    leosborn@colby.edu
    72.95.123.144
    Submitted on 2011/10/30 at 8:37 pm
    Laurie Osborne
    Colby College
    10/30/11

    Hello, all,

    This business of self-introduction is odd, particularly since I know a good many of you already! My interest in web-based and computer-related uses and representations is longstanding. I was drawn to this particular workshop in large part because I feel constantly out of date with these materials and have found SAA seminars and workshops particularly helpful in keeping up!

    I started thinking about these issues in rudimentary ways before “digital humanities” became a popular topic in our discipline. I offer as evidence a link to my first SAA contribution along these lines, a hyper-essay that I wrote in 1996, now long out of date: http://www.colby.edu/personal/l/leosborn/saa1.html. Some of my observations in that work have proven all too true, from the static quality of a website that does not change with new materials and new programming possibilities to the considerable problem of access when the server is down or has changed its file architecture! Since then both my pedagogy and my scholarship have evolved in concert with the changes that digitizing texts and performances have brought with them.

    Most recently my work has drawn in digital resources in a variety of ways, including two different analyses of the short films on Herbert Fritsch’s web installation, Hamlet_X (http://www.hamlet-x.de/), research on Shakespearean animation drawn from YouTube, and participation as a reviewer on MediaCommons for the recent issue of Shakespeare Quarterly on new media. Frankly, I am not quite sure what to do with some materials that I find– like the Facebook-to-real-book media crossings like Ophelia Joined the Group Maidens Who Don’t Float: Classic Lit Signs on to Facebook — but my Shakespeare in Popular Culture course always returns every other year to still more rich and various online interactions.

    Basically my interests range from the early moves in Shakespeare in the virtual world to the recent proliferation of materials and intermedial moments, some of which I contemplated recently in “iShakespeare: Digital Art/Games, Intermediality, and the Future of Shakespearean Film” in Shakespeare Studies, fall 2010. Soon I will realize a long-held ambition to publish critical work online — “Serial Shakespeare: Intermedial Performance and the Outrageous Fortunes of Slings & Arrows” will appear in/on Borrowers and Lenders sometime this fall!

    joining the SAA workshop on New Media
    1 #

  7. Robin Farabaugh says:

    Hello Everyone,
    I’m Robin Farabaugh, Senior Lecturer, from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC). I’ve been exploring using online wikis in teaching Shakespeare since 2005, when we began with Ward Cunningham’s qwiki-wiki, and have moved through MediaWiki, then xWiki, and now google sites. I have long been convinced that our platforms shape our thinking, at least if we’re new to a subject, and am interested in finding ways of developing language facility and fluency by increasing the involvement of students with expressive language and giving them the responsibility for shaping the visual representation of their work with Shakespeare online. Using appropriate online work along with classroom work can help language become seen as a material for expressive production in ways that ready students to work more receptively with Shakespeare’s play of language.
    In 2007 I offered a workshop at the SAA in San Diego on using wikis in the classroom, and published “‘The Isle is Full of Noises:’ Using Wiki Software to Establish a Discourse Community in a Shakespeare Classroom” in Language Awareness, vol 16 no.1. I enjoyed participating in Katherine Rowe’s 2010 SAA seminar Shakespeare 2.0, and look forward to our work this spring.

Leave a Reply

